Membership composition

The DEI Council is chaired by the Chief Diversity Officer of Wayne State University. Members of the DEI Council will serve a term of approximately 2 years. 

The council is composed as follows:

  • One faculty and one staff representative from each school/college. The college representatives should be active in, or leaders of, DEI initiatives in their respective colleges with direct access to or routine meetings with the dean
  • One staff member from each of the following divisions: Research, Academic Affairs, Finance, and Business Operations, Economic Development, General Counsel, Government and Community Affairs, Development, Marketing and Communications, and Human Resources
  • Two members from the Academic Senate
  • Two members from the Student Senate
  • Two members of the AAUP-AFT
  • In addition, the Chief Diversity Officer can invite additional individuals as at-large or ex-officio members of the council

The executive committee of the council: An executive committee advises the Chief Diversity Officer regarding the direction of the council at large. The executive committee is comprised of two council vice-chairs, the chairs of the working groups, two members of the academic senate, two members of the student senate, and two members of the AAUP-AFT Union. The Chief Diversity Officer convenes this group monthly.